Question: Can Dropbox Users See Each Other?

Do I need a Dropbox account to view a shared folder?

Yes, you need a Dropbox account to join a shared folder.

Files in a shared folder sync between members in their Dropbox accounts, so you need a Dropbox account to access and sync changes.

If you don’t have a Dropbox account, you can: Create a Dropbox account for free and then accept the invite..

Is Dropbox safe for confidential files?

Dropbox doesn’t provide for client-side encryption. Dropbox also doesn’t support the creation of your own private keys. However, Dropbox users are free to add their own encryption. … The security of your data is our highest priority and all files stored on Dropbox servers are encrypted.

Do I need Dropbox if I have iCloud?

Answer: A: You are welcome. If you are sharing the photos with other people, then you need to keep Dropbox or create a shared album in iCloud.

Does Dropbox monitor your files?

“We don’t look at the files in your private folders” Furthermore, Dropbox says your files are only checked against that list when you try to share a file — if you just upload a bunch of movies and albums to your Dropbox for your own personal consumption, they won’t get blocked.

How do I know if a Dropbox file is shared?

To do so:Sign in to dropbox.com.Click All files in the left sidebar.Find your folder and open it.Check to see if the files appear. If they don’t, then the shared folder owner (or a member with edit access) may need to re-share it.

Who can access my Dropbox files?

All files you store in Dropbox are private. Other people can’t see and open those files unless you purposely share links to files or share folders with others.

Is Dropbox safer than Google Drive?

Security and privacy For its part, Dropbox encrypts your data to a 128-bit AES standard while files are in motion, and then to a 256-bit AES standard when at rest. … Google Drive offers comparable security features, though it uses 256-bit AES encryption with files in transit and 128-bit AES encryption when at rest.

Can you tell if someone has accessed your Dropbox?

If more than four people viewed a file, you see an icon with a number on it on the preview of the file on dropbox.com. This icon shows how many people viewed the file. Click this icon to see everyone who accessed to the file. … If they’re not signed in, they’re shown as a Guest when they view the file.

Can someone access Dropbox without an account?

You can share files with anyone, including people without Dropbox accounts, by sharing a link to any file or folder. … Shared links are view-only, and by default anyone with the link can view and download its contents. Dropbox Professional and Dropbox Business customers can add passwords and expirations to shared links.

Why can’t I see my Dropbox files?

If you can see the Dropbox icon, then the app is running. If the Dropbox app is running, make sure that your computer is syncing. If you can’t see files that you expect to see in a shared folder, then you may have unintentionally deleted the folder.

Can my Dropbox be hacked?

If Dropbox doesn’t take serious action towards security, they could be hacked once again. A notorious Dropbox hack was the result of an employee using their company password on other websites. … Dropbox has been hacked before, but it increased security since then.

Can other users upload to my Dropbox?

Anyone can send you a file, whether they have a Dropbox account or not. … People who upload files to your file request cannot access your Dropbox. Only you can view files uploaded by others, unless you decide to share them.

How do I access someone else’s Dropbox?

Request access to a shared folderClick the invitation link that you received.Click Request access.If you have more than one Dropbox account, select which account you’d like to add the shared folder to.Your request will be sent to the folder owner, and you’ll be notified if the owner accepts your request.

Are Dropbox links secure? Yes, Dropbox shared links are secure. Anyone with the shared link can view and download the file you’ve shared. But, they won’t be able to see or access anything else in your Dropbox account, even the folder where your shared file is stored.